Having decided to divide the year into thirteen, four week periods and post a cloudcast at the end of each, I began to worry about having enough material for the first posting, because virtually nothing useful was posted to Bandcamp in the first few weeks. Things picked up significantly during the third week, however, and I ended up with enough songs for two compilations. This is one of them.

The opening track is taken from Heaven is a Place, the long awaited second release from LSD and the Search for God. This is followed by a track from Soft Wounds, whose self-titled album is one that Shoegaze fans have been anticipating since the release of the band’s five track Demo in 2014. Track three comes courtesy of Indoor Voices, who have resurfaced with Auratic, their first new EP in just over three years since releasing the second of two in October 2012. Apparently, there is another returnee from a lengthy absence in Wray, whose first album I somehow managed to miss in 2013, but the fourth track is taken from their second album, Hypatia.

Newcomers FAZER are set to stun have made a strong impression with the four tracks on the aptly titled Debut EP, one of which appears here. maria false takes us to the halfway point with the title track from the single spades, released on French label beko.

The second half begins with the opening track from EP, which comes to us in a roundabout way, being the work of Swedish band we.the pigs, but having been released on Spanish label Discos de Kirlian out of Barcelona. However it got here, it does feature some very nice Shoegaze tunes. The eighth track also comes via Spain. Odio París is new to me, but I feel confident that, when the time comes, Cenizas y Flores is going to find its way to my ‘Top 20 Albums of 2016’ list.

Now, it might be because I have listened to Sonic Youth‘s Goo a couple times this month, but track nine, taken from DIIV‘s soon to be released Is the Is Are, makes me think of “Tunic”, one of my favorite Sonic Youth songs. So, naturally, I had to include it here. Matt Bartram, of Air Formation fame, has added another album to his impressive solo output with Moments Before, and, moments later, I appropriated one of his new songs for use as the tenth track.

Coming into the home stretch, cerf volant‘s self-titled EP (also on beko) has provided the penultimate track, while long-time favorites of mine, 93MillionMilesFromTheSun takes us across the finish line with a track lifted from a split release, An Arms Reach Away/ Darkness Inside, shared with Presents For Sally and released on new Indie label Wrong Way Records.



  1. “Heaven” by LSD and the Search for God from Heaven is a Place
  2. “See the Sun” by Soft Wounds from Soft Wounds
  3. “What Can I” by Indoor Voices from Auratic
  4. “Pined” by Wray from Hypatia
  5. “Bad Mood” by FAZER from Debut EP
  6. “spades” by maria false from spades
  7. “Papercut” by we.the pigs from EP
  8. “En junio” by Odio París from Cenizas y Flores
  9. “Blue Boredom (Sky’s Song)” by DIIV from Is the Is Are
  10. “Break It” by Matt Bartram from Moments Before
  11. “dark end of the sea” by cerf volant from cerf volant
  12. “Edge Of Darkness” by 93MillionMilesFromTheSun from An Arms Reach Away/ Darkness Inside





About this compilation…

Once again, for your pleasure, ten tasty slices of Shoegaze goodness—all released this year, plus a bonus track. I know! You can’t help wondering why I’m being so good to you.

In any case, as far as countries of origin goes, this compilation is slightly better balanced than the last, with a track each from France, Germany, Ireland, Ukraine, three from the UK, and only four from the USA. Nothing from the Pacific Northwest, however.

I am especially excited about two of the tracks, as they represent new albums to be released by two of my favorite bands: Venera 4 and 93MillionMilesFromTheSun. In the case of the latter, I’ve been a huge fan of this Doncaster, England outfit ever since I first received a copy of their self-titled promo on CD-R back in 2008. Before I reset my Last.fm listening stats, 93MMFTS was third behind only Curve and The Jesus and Mary Chain, which easily makes them my favorite shoegazers of the modern era. I marvel at the way they continue to flout my maxim which states that ‘two albums and a handful of EPs is all the Shoegazing any band has in them’; long may it continue.

Venera 4, on the other hand, first came to my attention in 2013 with the release of Deaf Hearts EP. I liked it so much, I quickly rounded up the entire back catalogue of this Parisian quartet. It turns out that “Black Paw”, a track I used in last year’s Pardon My French compilation, was a preview of the band’s first full-length release, Eidôlon, due out 2 March.

Like 93MMFTS and Venera 4, Baltimore, Maryland’s Wildhoney and London, England’s Leave the Planet are returning contributors to compilations posted here or on NWshoegazing. The excellent “Seventeen”, which I downloaded as a single track on Bandcamp before it became the first track of the Seventeen Forever EP, makes another appearance on Wildhoney’s debut album, Sleep Through It, which was released in January on the Deranged Records label of British Columbia. “Seventeen” may be the best track on the album, but it is by no means the only one worth listening to, as I believe “Molly” will prove to anyone who gives it a listen.

Leave the Planet may only have two, two-track singles out so far, but in both cases, I have found the first track on each single irresistible. I used “Coasts” from their first single on two and, now, “Winter Sleep” from their second on four. Hmmm, I wonder if they’ll have another single out by the time I’m ready to post six.

The newcomers include: Sun Mahshene of Dublin, Ireland, who, while you won’t necessarily be able to tell from this track, are purveyors of some promising psychgaze, Lightning Bug of New York City, whose Dream Pop-filled Floaters album does contain a song or two with extra fuzziness, solo artist Infinity-Mi from Whitstable, England, who brings a sometimes manic gothgaze to his Meltdown album, Mandarinaduck from Ukraine, whose enjoyable second EP I tried to buy, but PayPal and Ukraine do not play nicely together (this is not the first time I have seen this), so GARDENSOULS is a free download for now, Angel Falls of Saint Paul, Minnesota, whose EP, Part 1, delivers some delightful dreamgaze (the vocals on “Angel Falls” remind me of something from the ’80s I can’t quite put my finger on, Talk Talk perhaps), and, finally, Seasurfer of Hamburg, Germany, who, in collaboration with Robin Guthrie, provide the bonus track, an alternate master of “We Run” from 2014’s outstanding Dive In, which has been fully mastered by the ex-Cocteau Twin legend.


01. “Beautiful Failure” by Witness 9

02. “On Blood” by Sun Mahshene facebook

03. “Lumious Veil” by Lightning Bug SoundCloud tumblr

04. “Swansong” by Infinity-Mi

05. “Winter Sleep” by Leave The Planet facebook Instagram

06. “Other Suns” by Mandarinaduck facebook tumblr

07. “Molly” by Wildhoney facebook tumblr

08. “Fall Into Nothing” by 93MillionMilesFromTheSun facebook

09. “Colored Fields” by Venera 4 facebook SoundCloud tumblr

10. “Solstice” by Angel Falls facebook SoundCloud

Bonus Track “We Run (Guthrie Master)” by Seasurfer facebook website SMR