Having decided to divide the year into thirteen, four week periods and post a cloudcast at the end of each, I began to worry about having enough material for the first posting, because virtually nothing useful was posted to Bandcamp in the first few weeks. Things picked up significantly during the third week, however, and I ended up with enough songs for two compilations. This is one of them.

The opening track is taken from Heaven is a Place, the long awaited second release from LSD and the Search for God. This is followed by a track from Soft Wounds, whose self-titled album is one that Shoegaze fans have been anticipating since the release of the band’s five track Demo in 2014. Track three comes courtesy of Indoor Voices, who have resurfaced with Auratic, their first new EP in just over three years since releasing the second of two in October 2012. Apparently, there is another returnee from a lengthy absence in Wray, whose first album I somehow managed to miss in 2013, but the fourth track is taken from their second album, Hypatia.

Newcomers FAZER are set to stun have made a strong impression with the four tracks on the aptly titled Debut EP, one of which appears here. maria false takes us to the halfway point with the title track from the single spades, released on French label beko.

The second half begins with the opening track from EP, which comes to us in a roundabout way, being the work of Swedish band we.the pigs, but having been released on Spanish label Discos de Kirlian out of Barcelona. However it got here, it does feature some very nice Shoegaze tunes. The eighth track also comes via Spain. Odio París is new to me, but I feel confident that, when the time comes, Cenizas y Flores is going to find its way to my ‘Top 20 Albums of 2016’ list.

Now, it might be because I have listened to Sonic Youth‘s Goo a couple times this month, but track nine, taken from DIIV‘s soon to be released Is the Is Are, makes me think of “Tunic”, one of my favorite Sonic Youth songs. So, naturally, I had to include it here. Matt Bartram, of Air Formation fame, has added another album to his impressive solo output with Moments Before, and, moments later, I appropriated one of his new songs for use as the tenth track.

Coming into the home stretch, cerf volant‘s self-titled EP (also on beko) has provided the penultimate track, while long-time favorites of mine, 93MillionMilesFromTheSun takes us across the finish line with a track lifted from a split release, An Arms Reach Away/ Darkness Inside, shared with Presents For Sally and released on new Indie label Wrong Way Records.



  1. “Heaven” by LSD and the Search for God from Heaven is a Place
  2. “See the Sun” by Soft Wounds from Soft Wounds
  3. “What Can I” by Indoor Voices from Auratic
  4. “Pined” by Wray from Hypatia
  5. “Bad Mood” by FAZER from Debut EP
  6. “spades” by maria false from spades
  7. “Papercut” by we.the pigs from EP
  8. “En junio” by Odio París from Cenizas y Flores
  9. “Blue Boredom (Sky’s Song)” by DIIV from Is the Is Are
  10. “Break It” by Matt Bartram from Moments Before
  11. “dark end of the sea” by cerf volant from cerf volant
  12. “Edge Of Darkness” by 93MillionMilesFromTheSun from An Arms Reach Away/ Darkness Inside



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s